ODE Help Desk

Collaborate Ultra - Students



Overview

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra is an updated version of the Collaborate web conferencing tool that runs in your web browser instead of relying on a launcher application installed on your computer.


Accessing Collaborate Ultra

To access the Collaborate Ultra tool to schedule or join a session:

  1. Click Tools on your course menu.
  2. Click the link for Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.
Back to top

Participating in a Session

While in a Collaborate Ultra session, you can interact using a webcam and/or a microphone. The controls are located at the bottom of the page. Simply click the appropriate icon to activate your device.

Inactive webcam and microphone icons Active webcam and microphone icons
Inactive Active

Once your webcam is active you will see your webcam feed on the bottom left corner of the session window.

If content is shared while webcams are active, the webcam feeds are minimized to the bottom right of your screen to make way for the content. Clicking on the minimized item will cause it to become the primary display in your session view, allowing you to toggle the display based on your needs.

Back to top

Sharing Whiteboard

The Whiteboard gives you a blank space on which to draw, add shapes, text, etc. By default, everyone in the session is allowed to draw on the whiteboard. That setting can be changed in the Session Settings shown in the above section of this guide.

To use the Whiteboard:

  1. Click the purple button in the bottom right corner to expand the Collaborate Ultra menu.
  2. At the bottom, click on the Share Content button.
  3. You will see three primary options to share content. Select Share Blank Whiteboard.
  4. When the Whiteboard is launched, you will be given a blank white page with a few tools to use. See the screenshot below.
Back to top

Sharing Applications (Screen Sharing)

With the application sharing option, you can share your entire screen or a specific program (ex. PowerPoint) with the users in the session.

To use Application Sharing:

  1. Click the purple button in the bottom right corner to expand the Collaborate Ultra menu.
  2. At the bottom, click on the Share Content button.
  3. You will see three primary options to share content. Select Share Application.
  4. You will be given a choice to share your entire screen or just a specific application. Sharing your screen allows participants to see everything you do on your screen. Sharing an application allows them to see only the specified application.
  5. If you choose to share an application you will see a pop-up window that shows each of your currently open applications. Select the one you want to share and click the Share button at the bottom.
  6. While sharing your applications, users can see everything you are doing in that application. To stop sharing click the Stop sharing button located at the bottom of the screen.
Back to top

Sharing Files

Collaborate Ultra allows you to share PowerPoint, PDF, and image files with users in a session.

To share files:

  1. Click the purple button in the bottom right corner to expand the Collaborate Ultra menu.
  2. At the bottom, click on the Share Content button.
  3. You will see three primary options to share content. Select Share Files.
  4. You can then drag and drop files to the box shown, or click the box to browse for the files you want to share.
  5. Attached files will be listed as shown below. You can add multiple files to the list, but only one can be shared at a time. Select the file you wish to share and click Share Now.
  6. The selected file will be presented in the main window for all users to see. To stop sharing, click the stop symbol in the top right corner.
Back to top

Polling

You can conduct simple polls using Collaborate Ultra. Polls can be Yes/No or multiple choice.

To poll users in a session:

  1. Click the purple button in the bottom right corner to expand the Collaborate Ultra menu.
  2. At the bottom, click on the Share Content button.
  3. In the Share Content menu, click on Polling.
  4. You can choose between a Yes/No poll or multiple choice. For multiple choice you will need to inform users of what the choices are as they will only see a number from which to choose.
    example poll example poll results
Back to top

Breakout Groups

The Breakout Groups option allows you to break the session into several smaller sessions for group discussions.

To start Breakout Groups:

  1. Click the purple button in the bottom right corner to expand the Collaborate Ultra menu.
  2. At the bottom, click on the Share Content button.
  3. Click on Breakout Groups.
  4. You can assign users to groups either randomly or manually.
    • Random assign: Select the number of groups and Collaborate will auto-assign everyone to a group
    • Custom assignment: Drag and drop users from the main room to the appropriate group
  5. Once the groups have been assigned, click Start at the bottom to begin the Breakout Groups.
  6. As a moderator, you can switch groups at any time to check in on the discussions. Click the Join icon to join a particular group.
  7. Click the stop button in the top right corner of the Breakout Groups menu to bring everyone back to the main room.
Back to top

Recordings

Instructors may choose to record Collaborate Ultra sessions. Recordings can be accessed from the Collaborate Ultra tool in your course.

  1. Go to the Collaborate Ultra tool.
  2. Click the menu button in the top left, above the Course Room.
    menu button
  3. Select Recordings from the menu that opens.
  4. The next page will list any available recordings.
  5. Click on the name of the session to watch the recording.
Back to top